Nominations Released – 2012 Sandown Classic

November 12th, 2012

Nominations have been released for the 2012 Sandown Classic, which is set to run at Sandown Racecourse this Saturday November 17, 2012.

A total of 14 horses have nominated for the 2012 Zipping Classic, including Ironstein.

Ironstein has won eight of his 46 race starts and has earned more than $830,000 in prize money during his horse racing career.

The Zabeel gelding placed second to Puissance De Lune in the Group 3 Queen Elizabeth Stakes at Flemington last weekend.

Ironstein is yet to win a race this spring racing carnival, however, has consistently performed in the top four or five runners in all of his six race starts.

The Gerald Ryan-trained gelding is well performed over the 2012 Sandown Classic’s 2,400 metres, having won over this distance on two previous occasions.

Also included in the 2012 Sandown Classic, which is also known as the Zipping Classic, nominations is Mourayan.

Mourayan has won four of his 33 race starts and has earned more than $1.17 million in prize money.

The seven-year-old ran in the 2012 Melbourne Cup last start, where he finished a gallant seventh place.

Mourayan has already won the Group 3 Craven Plate this preparation and will be looking to add the Group 2 Sandown Classic to his record this weekend.

Don’t miss out on the best odds available this spring. Open an account with today and start experiencing betting the way it should be!

Just enter the promo code BONUSBET when you join and you will be given a bonus bet worth up to $400 to spend this spring racing carnival.

Why not use it to back your favourite horse in the 2012 Sandown Classic this Saturday?

2012 Sandown Classic Nominations

No. Horse Trainer Hcp Rating
1 BACK IN BLACK (NZ) John Steffert 89
2 DAME CLAIRE (NZ) Pat Carey 95
3 EXCEPTIONALLY (NZ) Terry & Karina O’Sullivan 98
4 GARUD (IRE) Michael Moroney 82
5 HE’S HOT TO TROT Mick Whittle 78
6 IBICENCO (GER) Luca Cumani 100
7 IRONSTEIN Gerald Ryan 102
8 MOUDRE Ciaron Maher 102
9 MOURAYAN (IRE) Robert Hickmott 108
10 MY QUEST FOR PEACE (IRE) Luca Cumani 107
11 PRECEDENCE (NZ) Bart Cummings 105
12 RAWNAQ David Hayes 82
13 TANBY Robert Hickmott 102
14 UMATIC Shawn Mathrick 68