Race Results – 2012 Sandown Classic Won By Tanby

November 19th, 2012

Tanby has won the Group 2 Sandown Classic, which took place at Sandown Racecourse last Saturday November 17, 2012.

The six-year-old won the race by a nose ahead of Exceptionally, who finished second, and Precedence, who passed the post in third.

Tanby has now won nine of his 24 race starts and has earned more than $660,000 in prize money during his horse racing career.

Part owner Nick Williams admitted it was not the result he expected, with race favouite Mourayan, whom he also owns, in the 2012 Sandown Classic.

“I was focused on Mourayan until the 300 (metres) and then Tanby just swept past them,” Williams said.

The 2012 Sandown Classic has been renamed the Zipping Classic after Zipping, who was also owned by Llyod Williams.

“If there’s a race other than the Melbourne Cup that we wanted to win it’s this one,” Williams said.

“Zipping was Dad’s favourite horse, it’s a special win.

“The Sydney Cup looks like the sort of race that’ll suit him, so that’s on the cards for now.”

Tanby was nominated for the 2012 Melbourne Cup, however, did not make the field.

“He only had 53 (kilograms) which would have been a nice weight for a horse who’s shown he’s an out-and-out stayer,” Williams said.

The galloper earned himself a $100,000 bonus for winning the 2012 Sandown Classic since he failed to make the Melbourne Cup field.

bookmaker.com.au is your one stop shop for all your betting needs this summer racing carnival.

Sign up for an account with the trusted Australian bookie bookmaker.com.au today in order to receive your bonus bet in time for the 2012 Winterbottom Stakes this weekend.

So what are you waiting for? Open an account now!

2012 Sandown Classic Race Results

Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Bar. Weight Starting Price
1 3 TANBY Robert Hickmott Nicholas Hall 7 59kg $7.50
2 7 EXCEPTIONALLY (NZ) Terry & Karina O’Sullivan Dean Yendall 0.75L 8 57kg $7.50
3 2 PRECEDENCE (NZ) Bart Cummings Blake Shinn 2.5L 3 59kg $9
4 1 MOURAYAN (IRE) Robert Hickmott Hugh Bowman 5.25L 1 59kg $2.70F
5 9 RAWNAQ David Hayes Chad Schofield (a) 5.75L 2 50.5kg $7
6 4 HE’S HOT TO TROT Mick Whittle Dom Tourneur 8.5L 6 59kg $101
7 8 DAME CLAIRE (NZ) Pat Carey Peter Mertens 11.25L 9 57kg $15
8 6 UMATIC Shawn Mathrick Dwayne Dunn 16.25L 4 59kg $201
9 5 GARUD (IRE) Michael Moroney Kerrin McEvoy 16.55L 5 59kg $7